1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie want's some "HT" upgrade advice

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff Braddock, Mar 14, 2002.

1. Jeff Braddock

Jeff Braddock Second Unit

First off, I am a newbie, so please don't thrash me too much.[​IMG] Anyhow, this is the deal, I and my wife are college students and we live in an apartment. I want to upgrade our current setup to a little higher end, but she thinks it is "silly" to do away with our perfectly fine setup. What we have is:
    TV-27" Sanyo (sorry, can't find the model #)
    VCR-LXI 4 Head
    DVD-Apex AD-500B
    Reciever-Technics SA-EX110 (A/V)
    Tape Deck-Sony TC-WE305
    CD Changer-Phillips Magnavox CDC 735
    Speakers-(2)Cerwin Vega E 310 towers
    (1)Sony SA-WM40
    I know this is a modest setup, but it sounds good I think. I would like to upgrade, even if it is one piece at a time, so I would like some suggestions on what should be first. We don't have very much money as she is unable to work because of student teaching and I can only work p/t, so please keep the price range down. Personally, I was thinking maybe the DVD player be the first to be changed, but please tell me what you think. Thanks in advancd for your help.

2. Rod Melotte

Rod Melotte Stunt Coordinator

Here is a suggestion and ideas.

1. Don't upgrade the VCR

2. Don't upgrade the CD changer - when you buy a better DVD player it will play CD's

Personally - I'd go with the TV as it is used the most. I don't know HOW much you can spend but there are some REALLY nice models out there. If you are on a budget don't worry about HD but you might want something bigger so you can watch DVD's widescreen easier (how big is your viewing room).

You can have Surround sound with out a digital reciever and that will cost you $400 min.