Newbie to the HT bit N bobs yet eager to learn!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Deani, Jul 27, 2001.

1. Deani

Deani Extra

Hey everyone! :]
    Firstly i am a newbie to all this and am quite lost by all the terms i see used and whatnot. But the bug has bitten me, and i wish to learn more and join this immense community!
    Now i have been putting up with speakers of the 3W variety for years. As you can appreciate the sound is as weak as weak gets.
    So i want to upgrade but having looked at a few different hifi sites i kind of got the impression i was getting more and more lost in this jungle :]
    Thus what i was hoping was if any of you people could possible throw a few ideas my way??? im looking at a nice powerful set of speakers (100W really) and a decent amp.
    My limit is a bit low but i get paid a training wage so must make do [​IMG]
    £350 all told i guess is about right. (yup i live in uk)oh and ill be using the equipment with my pc to play music
    One of my mates mentioned wharfdale (means nothing to me!) but i have no idea of their quality [​IMG]
    I just want to be able to hear music as it SHOULD be heard!
    Any ideas tips, ALL welcomed!

2. Saurav

Saurav Cinematographer

Are you looking for computer speakers, or stereo speakers? I don't know much about speakers for computers. For regular speakers that would be hooked up to a receiver/amplifier, I could make some recommendations. I believe Tannoy is a British speaker manufacturer? AFAIK, they're known for making excellent budget speakers, and you should be able to get them cheaper than Canadian/American brands. Other brands I could recommend are Paradigm, B&W, NHT - they all make speakers in your price range.
    One last thing - I think you'll be doing an injustice to all of those speakers if you hook them up to a computer, that's assuming that even works [​IMG]

3. John.J

John.J Auditioning

If you are looking for computer speakers go with Videologic