What's new

Newbie: Thoughts on this HT (1 Viewer)

richn41

Auditioning
Real Name
Rich
I’m new to the HD world and was wondering if some if you could comment on what I’m thinking of purchasing. Right now I live in an apartment (approx. 12’x13’ living room) but I also am thinking of the future. I will most likely buy a house in the next year or two. Here’s what I’ve tentatively decided on”

HDTV Budget: $2500 max
Samsung LN-S4695D
46” LCD 1080p

HT System Budget: $1100 max
Onkyo HT-S907
7.1 Channel (110 watts x 7) and 230 watt 10” front firing sub

Receiver: “The HDMI inputs can accept and switch 480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, and 1080p signals to a TV, monitor, or projector.”

6 Disc DVD Player: “The video resolution for the HDMI output can be set to 480p, 720p, or 1080i.”

Questions:
1.Is the upconversion related to the DVD player and the switching related to the receiver?
2.Does that mean that if I play a DVD it can, or will, upconvert to 1080i at the highest?
3.Does that mean that if in two years I decide to buy a HD-DVD player or Blu-Ray player that the receiver will accept the 1080p signal?

Also, I’m kind of on the fence as to whether I should go with the 40” or 46” Samsung LCD. I’m afraid the 46 will be too big and the picture won’t look good in my apartment. But, I’m also afraid that if I buy a 40” that I will regret it later.

Anyway, I would greatly appreciate any comments and suggestions.

Thanks,
Rich

jmrock

Auditioning
Real Name
Jay
I own the exact same HD-TV which you are thinking about buying (Samsung 4695) which is a great TV, esp. with the HD programming. My living room is 18'x11' and the 46" screen is just about right for the size of the room, so I would say given the dimensions of your living room, the Samsung 4695 would be a good fit. Better to get the 46" and not regretting buying the 40" because of it being too "small".

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert