What's new

Newbie sub question (1 Viewer)

Hi all

I am looking to buy a sub, at the moment i have a 5.1 system but i hear that subs also have an amp inside them. If this is true in the future will subs also have 7.1 capability on their amps and if so could i keep my 5.1 amp and get the extra channels from the sub?

I am sorry in advance if this is a stupid question but i am still new to all this.

Thanks for any answers

Paul

Geoff S

Stunt Coordinator
Hi Paul, first off welcome to HTF!
If I understand your question right your asking is the built-in amp on a sub there to drive 2, all 6, or 8 speakers... That answer would be No.
Most consumer subwoofers have an amp built inside of them. This amp is to drive the sub only. You'll find a few that have an external amp instead, around also. The power otput on a sub's amp can be anything from a simple 5 watts on like, computer subs... all the way up to 1000+ watts RMS on home theater subs.
Add a two channel amp to that 5 channel amp to get those surround rear channels, assuming you PreAmp/Processor is 7.1?
And from the pre/pro there should be an RCA jack that says something like "Sub Pre-Out". Connect that to the sub via an RCA subwoofer cable to your sub, non crossover input if it offers the option of crossover/non-crossover. If you don't have a preout you'll need to run your sub as passive by using the signal from the mains.
Hopefully I hit the nail on the head.. let us know if this helps, and if you have any other questions feel free to ask. Also since you're new to this please take a little time to read through the FAQ, it'll answer many question you probably already have. Here's the link: http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...threadid=55635