What's new

Newbie - Speaker advice (1 Viewer)

SeanV

Stunt Coordinator
I am just beginning to set up my first HT system. Because money is an issue right now I'm basically just adding to what I already have. My wife was given 2 Bose 901 series speakers as a gift from her father a few years ago. One of these were stolen while we were being moved so insurance is giving us another set. So now I have 3 Bose 901's with a Bose center speaker. I know there are scores of people out there that detest Bose, but like I said....I'm using what I have for now. My question is, should I try and get another 901 so that I have 4 plus the center and get a sub (if so,whats a good sub), or should I get 2 different speakers to be my surround speakers (I will still need a sub). I wouldn't be adverse to dumping the Bose for something better but they were a gift....to my wife...from her Dad...and I value my life. Thanks in Advance.

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
Well I think the prudent thing to do is to stick with the 901's. I take it your father in law also gave you the equalizer or the insurance made good on it? Rather than get another 901, I'd look to sell the odd one on ebay. Someone is bound to be looking for just one 901 and you might fetch a fair price for it. Do you plan on putting those on stands or hanging them from the ceiling?

As far as your other questions, if you could provide additional information regarding the room size, the receiver, discretionary income, I'm sure some choices could be presented. You could also contact Bose (1-800-999-2673) and discuss your situation with them to see what they recommend to complement their 901's. Likely they'll suggest their own speakers but you can either accept that advice or bounce it back here.