What's new

Newbie question (1 Viewer)

BleedingBlue

Auditioning
Real Name
Brian
Hello all, I am new to the home theater experience and have questions. I visited California this Christmas and went to my brother's house. He had an unbelievable home theater. When he played a movie it was like you were in the theater and I want to get the same. He spent close to $15,000 on it. Now I don't have the same kinda budget, but would be willing to spend maybe about $3,000 over time. My question is what kind of components are needed to achieve that kind of sound? I know a receiver and speakers are needed along with a subwoofer, but he had other components in there that I don't know what they were. Didn't have much time to talk to him about it. I currently have a Samsung 40 inch LCD, but will be getting a 52 inch Sony LCD soon and moving the Samsung to the bedroom. I also have a PS3. I don't like having wires going everywhere, so wireless would be preferred, but if the wires deliver better sound then I'll live with it. Any answers are appreciated along with brand names of the better equipment.

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Does your budget include things like seating or is it just for electronics?

For speakers you need to audition a bunch before buying. Or you can take a chance and buy from an internet direct seller like Hsu, SVS, AV123, or Elemental Designs. Also these companies sell subs and I recommend you get your sub from one of them.

Receiver - Yes you need one. What features do you want? HDMI switching? High def sound decoding?

Wireless - You want wires. There are numerous ways to hide them depending on your house/room. All of my wires are run through the walls and attic.

Finally, talk to your brother about his system. Get details and post them here. If you want something similar but at a smaller budget then we can help you buy something.

-Robert

BleedingBlue

Auditioning
Real Name
Brian