Newbie Question????

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by paulThevol, Jul 19, 2005.

1. paulThevol

paulThevol Auditioning

Hello all,

I just purchase a new Sony DE898 home theater receiver. After hooking up all of the speakers, I am wondering if I have done something wrong or I just don't get it? I have two large JBL front speakers a JBL center channel and 2 JBL surround speakers. No subwoover yet!! Anyway, I am not getting much bass at all and I have to turn that receiver up to like 60 (volume control reading) before it is very loud. I just feel like something is not right??? I'm a computer network administrator, but not very up to date on these audio/video issues.

Please help!!!

Paul

2. Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi Screenwriter

Welcome to the board, bro!

Try to describe how you have everything hooked up. What signal are you using to listen? DVD player, sat/cable box? How is the source player connected to the receiver? Red/White audio cable, digital coax, digital optical?

3. paulThevol

paulThevol Auditioning

For instance, I was playing a music DVD recorded with Digital Dolby. I have the DVD connected via component video cables to the DVD IN of the receiver. I'm using the red and white audio OUT going to the DVD IN of the receiver. The picture looks great on the TV! However, like I said there isn’t much bass at all and I have to turn that receiver way up to get it loud. The Sony user manual is terrible!!

Thanks for considering my problem, I appreciate your help!!

Paul

4. John S

John S Producer

DVD is way best served with a digital connection. Make sure you have subwoofer set to off in configuration in the reciever. To use analog and get DD or DTS you must hook up 6 RCA analog connections. otherwise you did not get DD out of your system, just 2 channel analog audio.

The volume thing is not a big deal as long as it does gets as loud as you want it and still sounds good.

5. Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi Screenwriter