Newbie Question on FPTV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dan J M, Feb 18, 2002.

1. Dan J M

Dan J M Auditioning

Hello everyone! First, I would like to say how amazed I am at this forum. I can't believe how knowledgeable and helpful everyone is here, and how organized and professional the whole forum is. I am just beginning to look at front projection TV. We are finishing off our basement and would like to set aside a portion for a home theater. Orginally, we were looking at 65" HDTVs for down there, but we later realized there was no way we are going to be able to fit a TV bigger than 27" around the corner in the steps to our basement.
    So, we're now looking at FPTV. I have done hours of research on it, but I still have a few questions that I am hoping you guys can answer (actually, I know you guys can answer them [​IMG] )
    First of all, I'd like some ideas as to what projectors I should be looking at. I'm pretty sure I want a LCD projector (for many reasons, one being that as I understand, they aren't prone to burn-in), but I'm not really sure what ones I should be looking at, let alone what kind of screens I should be thinking about. I will be using the projector for a lot of movies where I should be able to turn off all the lights and close the window blinds, but also watching football games and other TV during the day, with the windows open (shouldn't be too much light - they are those small basement ones) and lights on. What projectors would be able to show a good picture in both of this situations? I have a budget around $3500-$4500 for the projector.
    Next, the screens. I have no idea what size screen or what kind of screen I should be looking at. I would probably like a screen in the 80" area, but maybe a tad bigger? Most of the movies I watch will probably be in widescreen format, but TV will be in normal 4:3 format. Should I get a 4:3 screen or a 16:9 screen?