Newbie Question - Cube Speakers

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Codey J, Mar 18, 2005.

1. Codey J

Codey J Auditioning

Hello All,

Newbie here. I've been searching and reading for hours and I'm sure someone here has answered this question, but there are so many opinions about the different speakers out in the market today. One thing is for sure...most here don’t like Bose. I was actually thinking about getting a set.

Anywho, I just bought a new house and choose the in-ceiling 6.1 pre-wire package. I want small cube like speakers that will mount onto the ceiling (not in). The room is about 15' wide by 15' deep to the back of the couch. The kitchen is behind so there is like another 12' behind the couch. I have an older set (6 yrs) of Polk Audio RM7300 that I somewhat like, but it only a 5.1 and I'm going to use them on the Mast Bed. I pretty sure big floor tower speakers will sound the best, but it not what I'm looking for. So many brand the choose from...Paradigm, Boston, JBL, ect, ect. I'm only want to spend around $1000, but willing to spend less [​IMG]...or more if needed.

Question, why hate the Bose so much. Is it because they are paper? Are the newer Lifestyles made the same as the Acoustimass? The Lifestyle sure sounded allot better....but what the hell do I know, otherwise I wouldn't be asking.

Oh yea...need a sub too!

Thanks

2. SethH

SethH Cinematographer

Bose is simply too expensive for what you get. You ever see the frequency response on a Bose system? Neither has anyone else! They don't publish them like EVERY other speaker manufacturer does. BUT, if your #1 priority is looks/decor and you don't mind the sound, then by all means, feel free to purchase the Bose. The key is simply that you be happy with your purchase.