Newbie question about High End CD players (Linn, Rotel, Arcom)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris Benson, Mar 3, 2002.

1. Chris Benson

Chris Benson Extra

I'm new to the hobby and was wondering if someone here could lend me a bit of advice about CD Players.
    With the current setup I have (Onkyo Model DXc201 - purchased 1991), my local HT Dealers are saying that a good CD Player will make a big improvement. They are suggesting Linn, Rotel or Arcom.
    Will a ($400 to $500) CD player make that much of a difference over my current CD player?
    One I was looking at is the Rotel 971 because I found one at $400 which is in my price range.
    Current Setup
    Marantz SR-18Ex Reciever
    Snell KII LCR
    Snell Sr.5 Rears
    PSB Subsonic 7 Sub
    Sony Playstation 2 (Dvd Player)
    Thank You
    Benson

2. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer

Chris,
    Although you are new here- this is a question that would be better suited for our AV sources area. High end CD players are usually not the territory of the newbie area [​IMG]
    So, I've moved your post to our AV source area- and I hope someone there will help you out.
    -Vince

3. KeithH

KeithH Lead Actor

Chris, first welcome to the Forum. Now, I would say that a newer player in the $400-500 range would yield a marked improvement in your system. If you search this site, you will find that the subject of CD players in your price range has been discussed quite a bit.
    You won't find anything new from Linn as far as I know for $500. You may some of their older lower-end models used for $500, however. Rotel makes some nice players, and they recently released the RCD-1070 that I believe sells for $500-600 (maybe a bit more). It got a good review in the current issue of What Hi*Fi? out of the UK. I believe the '1070 is available in the US now.