Newbie PC Speakers and receiver help.

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Dan-T, Jun 25, 2004.

1. Dan-T

Dan-T Auditioning

Hi. I'm pretty new to home theater, I'm more of a car audio guy, but I decided I need a better setup for watching movies than just listening through the tv's speakers. Anyway.... I have a set of Klipsch promedia 5.1 speakers on my computer, however I don't use them often anymore and I wanted to use them on my tv instead. Is there anything special that I need, any problems I might encounter, or would everything work perfectly? Also... I'm looking for a good receiver to hook the speakers up to... but my budget is around $200. Can anyone reccomend any good receivers around that price range that would work good with the klipsch speakers? Thanks in adavance. [​IMG]

2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    Hi Dan,

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but judging from what I see at Klipsch’s web site, you have a connection problem right off the bat: The Pro-Media 5.1 uses three 1/8” mini plugs; your TV will have only two RCA outputs at best.

Regarding your plan to use the Pro-Medias with a budget receiver, that will be a bit of problem too, for much the same reason. It appears that the five main speakers will connect directly to the receiver, which is good. But the problem will once again be those three input cables. You’ll have to figure out which one to connect to the receiver to get the sub to operate. Hopefully it shouldn’t be a problem, but you will need to get a 1/8”-RCA adapter from Radio Shack to do this.

Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt

3. Dan-T

Dan-T Auditioning

Hi. Thanks for the reply. [​IMG]

The klipsch speakers I have I couldn't even find on klipsch's website anymore... they're the older model 5.1's. Would that make a difference? I tried to post a picture of them but since I'm new it won't let me... but anyway... Are the mini plugs you're refering to the ones that connect to the back of the computer?

Thanks again for your help. [​IMG]