Newbie on a Budget

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Kenny Li, Dec 7, 2003.

1. Kenny Li

Kenny Li Agent

Hello all,

I'm new to this home theater thing. I'm currently looking at speakers for a 350 sq. ft. irregular shaped room. It is an open room which includes the living room and the dining room. Don't have an amp picked out yet, but I am looking to set up a system for both movies and music. I really don't need anything overwhelming cause I won't have the system cranked up too loud since I live in an apartment.

I really like the B&W speakers, mainly for their looks (yes, I am an idiot newbie who's interested in aesthetics). Was looking at the bookshelf 705s. Any comments on this? If not, alternative suggestions?

Next, would you suggest that I use the B&W center speakers and subwoofer from the same line? Or another brand? I can mix and match right?

Finally, any suggestions on the surround speakers? I'm looking to set up a 5.1 system. Given that I don't have a straight wall behind me, I think the only options that I have are ceiling mounting and floor standing. Is there anyway I can get by with small speakers (the size of the Bose cubes) so that they don't stick out in my living room? Any suggestions?

Thank you for your help. I have no idea what I am doing.

Kenny

2. Kenny Li

Kenny Li Agent

By the way, how would you rank speakers in terms of importance?

I was told:

1. Center
    2. Mains
    3. Subwoofer
    4. Surround

Thanks,
    Kenny

3. Danny Tse

Danny Tse Producer

Whatever brand of speaker you choose, stick with the center channel speaker from the same series. And if possible, same goes for the surround speakers as well. One thing I remember when surfing Hong Kong audiophile/home theater websites like review33.com was that the center channel speaker is almost seen as an afterthought. In a HT, the center is probably the most important speaker. So match it to the other speakers to ensure you have the same tonal timbre in your system.