What's new

newbie needs help with 42" plasma buying (1 Viewer)

kahlilJ

Agent
i am fairly new to the landscape of new tv's (beyond CRT). i want to purchase a 42" plasma to mount on a wall above our (very little used) fireplace. however i am kinda overwhelmed with the plethora of terms/issues surrounding my decision.

for starters: i do not have cable nor satellite & we intend to put off subscribing to such for as long as possible. because of this i need a plasma with a built in tuner (or rather prefer to have one instead of using VCR as tuner & connecting); but i understand that analog signals (NTSC) will go away within the next few years?? and only HD signals will be broadcast. here's where my questions begin:

if HD signals will be the only broadcast, then will ATSC tuner receive this signal? or will i still have to buy an external HD tuner?

i understand some sets (HD ready) can either take external HD tuner or have a slot for an HD card to be installed on-board eliminating the need for an external HD tuner. is this true? if so, is there a difference in quality?

& since i will likely have to replace the tv or at the very least buy an HD tuner when this mandated switch occurs, it doesn't make sense to me to spend the crazy bucks that is being asked for these tvs. given that, i do see that $2K for a 42" unit is reasonable. any suggestions on manufacturers to avoid or buy?

any features that i should pay particular attention to? i notice that most tv's of seemingly good quality have contrast ratios close to 1000:1 or more, and native resolutions >= 852x480. but beyond that i really don't know what kind of specs/features are needed/desirable or comparable. any suggestions??

i am sooo confused by the abundance of info going on & upcoming/expected changes that it makes the purchase decision challenging.

thanks for all/any help & sorry for the lengthy message
kgj

SimiA

Second Unit
Welcome to the Forum.