1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie Needs Help Selecting HDTV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Fred DeGrandis, Apr 3, 2001.

1. Fred DeGrandis

Fred DeGrandis Stunt Coordinator

Hello all,
    I am in need of some help deciding what HDTVs to look at when I go to my home theater store next week. I am new to all of this, so I have picked out 2 sets based on the audioreview sie. The first set I am looking at is the Mitsubishi WT-46805, and the second set is the Toshiba 40h80. Are these good sets for the buck? Should I hold off and save up more money and get a different set? Are there other sets you can recommend? As I said I am totaly new to this and any help would be great. Also, What are the hidden costs to this TV. I am aware that to optimize DVD viewing, you have to buy a Progressive scan player, and I plan to do that later. What about a HD tuner, right now I have Direct TV with the tivo built in? will that work, do I need to buy a new reciever too? If so what does that cost? The musts of whatever TV you recommend are a 16:9 screen, and 1080 resolution. I believe in all HD sets that there is no scan lines, is this true? I watch about 25% DVD movies, and the rest of my viewing is through Direct Tv. Currently I am using a 32inch Sony Wega, do you think it is worth the upgrade? Can I get a better deal for an HD set in Canada, I drove to get my Paradigms, and That was well worth it. Do any of these have a better warrenty than another?
    Please help me, and Thanks in advance, Fred
    ------------------
    View" TARGET=_blank>www.dvdprofiler.com/mycollection.asp?alias=FDBOWIE">View FDBOWIE's DVD Collection

2. Jerry_L

Jerry_L Auditioning

Fred:
    You have asked a lot of questions. let me try to answer your questions with out going into a lot of detail (if I can):