What's new

Newbie Needs Help - Help Me Spend My Money (1 Viewer)

Patrick Walden

Auditioning
I admit it...I'm a newbie and don't know much. All I know I've gathered from this website. So any help I get is greatly appriecated!!! :)

Here it goes. I currently own a SONY DAV-S300. But it no longer has sound coming from the speakers. The unit was Ok and served it's purpose as our first system. We used it to both watch movies and listen to music. Not great but we were on a budget. Still are, but the budget is much bigger. $2500 or less.

Below I have begun an outline of what I think are good components, mainly based off what I read from this site. Please feel free to add what ever comments/help you have.

Speakers
Rocket by Onix Extremely Luscious Theater (ELT) $999.99
Are they that much better then the Rocket Tykes 5.1 Home Theater for $399? Also I like the Fluance SX-HTB which are around $249 but I would need help finding a sbuwoofer. Most likely the SVS Model 25-31PCi for $549.

Receiver
Denon AVR-3805 Refurbished $699.99 Any comments on refurb stuff? Bad idea? Doesn't matter?

DVD Player
Denon DVD-1910 $249.00

CD Changer
DENON DCM-280 REFURBISHED 5-Disc CD Changer Player $99

TurnTable (Optional but I do have lots of Vinyl)
Denon DP-29F $110

This puts me at roughly $2300 which is in my budget. Iwant to stay under $2500. I will add a TV in the spring when I get my bonus.

Thanks in advance for your help!

PS-I hope this is the right forum for this.

Andrew s wells

Second Unit
Can't help you out with the reciever or speakers, as I have no experience with those brands. I just wanted to chime in with a little advice. I personally wouldn't bother with a CD changer (it'll save you 100 bucks), and would just use the DVD player for your audio purposes. :)
I'm sure someone from here will be along soon with some helpful advice on your other questions.

EricRWem

Screenwriter
Real Name
Adrik