Newbie looking into GR Alpha LS

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by AhsanR, Nov 21, 2003.

1. AhsanR

AhsanR Stunt Coordinator

Good day mates,

Well in the DIY world I am a newbie, but from what I've seen, it seems if I build my own stuff, I can undercut commercial stuff big time.

With that said, I was looking at the GR Alpha LS, just because it looks like a beast. And it probably has more bass otuput than any speaker I've ever seen.

I have a couple of questions since I've never build a speaker.

A)How would you say these speakers sound for those who have listened compared to say..... the popular ones roaming around, Onix Reference, Paradigm 100s, Magnepans, Klpisch, Polk LSi, the list goes on.....

B) I can make an enclosure easily, BUT, I've never worked with internals of a speaker, is this tricky/hard? I work in technical production theater, so I have to make things everyday.

C)For behemoths like that, what would be matching surrounds and a center channel?

D)I'm looking into a MArantz MM9000 Amplifier I beleive. Its rated 170 watts into 5. Is that a good match?

Alright thanks guys, I've searched online but haven't been able to find one review.... Hopefully someone here has some expertise in these.

2. AhsanR

AhsanR Stunt Coordinator

No one?

3. Christopher Fisher

Talk to Danny Ritchie at GR Resarch. He's an very cool guy and will give you the facts. Period. I've heard the Alpha LS and they are AMAZING. Nothing I have ever heard before even comes close. I will own a pair someday. Talk to Danny www.gr-research.com

He's a great guy and if your in or near Witchita Falls, you can hear a pair at his house.

Good Luck

4. Danny Richie

Danny Richie Stunt Coordinator

Sorry you haven't had any responses yet. Its a slow day on the forums from what I see. I don't think I have any Alpha LS owners that are regulars here.