1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie here - What do you think?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JamesMartin, Aug 1, 2001.

1. JamesMartin

JamesMartin Extra

Hi everyone, first off I would like to say that this seems to be a great forum. Everyone seems very mature unlike some other forums I belong to because of my other interests.
    I am brand new to home theater but being into car audio for a number of years I can appriciate truly good, clean sound so I decided to purchase a HT. I just found this site today and I ordered my stuff yesterday. Tell me what you think.
    Onkyo TX-DS595 receiver 399.00 shipped
    Onkyo DX-C380 Cd player 169.00 shipped
    Klipsch Quintet 5 speaker package - 330.00 Shipped
    Klipsch KSW-10 Sub - 245.00 Shipped
    Total = 1143.00
    I also will have my VCR and digital cable hooked up along with my PlayStation 2, also my DVD player for a couple more months.
    Tell me what you guys think about this set up and also I need to know what type of digital cables are good quality. I don't want the BEST right now cause I am strapped for cash after this purchase.

2. Kevin Potts

Kevin Potts Second Unit

Welcome to the HTF James [​IMG]
    Sounds like a nice setup. I'm sure enjoy the heck out of it.
    As far as cables are concerned, I've had good luck with my Monster Cables over the years and they're fairly inexpensive. You can pick them up at [​IMG] Best Buy pretty cheap.
    Good luck and once again, Welcome [​IMG]
    ------------------
    [​IMG] "See the world on the wings of rock and roll"
    [Edited last by Kevin Potts on August 01, 2001 at 04:34 PM]

3. Scott L

Scott L Producer

Welcome to the forum!! HTF is my favorite forum on the net. Hope you enjoy it too.