Newbie here! Need some tips!

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by JoshDubz, Jan 22, 2006.

1. JoshDubz

JoshDubz Auditioning

Jan 21, 2006
    I know what I'm about to say may frustrate many of you more experienced people, and I realize that I'm sure I could read through the forums and get the answers to all the same questions, but I'm new and I'm looking to get some ideas on where to go from here.

My dad just gave me his hand-me-down receiver (Harmon/Kardon AVR-230) and some pretty decent looking speaker cable and now I'm looking to start piecing together a good home stereo set-up. He said he will be getting me some good Vandersteen speakers for my front two, but I still need a rear set, and a subwoofer. I don't have much to spend (probably less than $300 all together including wires) and I'm unsure where to look.

Also, I noticed my AVR-230 has video jacks in addition to audio. It even has a coaxial cable end and I'm wondering why someone would want to run their video through a stereo receiver? Maybe I'm just confused but I have never worked with a receiver in the past that had video also. Any tips you guys can give would be great!
  2. Dick Knisely

Dick Knisely Second Unit

Oct 22, 2005
    First and best tip is to go read the Primer/FAQ here. It will answer a ton of questions you are going to have.

Short answer to the second part is that the video jacks are there so you can optionally do video switching. Say for example, you've got 3 video sources with S-video outputs but the TV has only one S-video input. Solution is to run all three to the receiver and a single S-vid connection from AVR to TV.