Newbie help???

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by DavidRD, Jan 10, 2006.

1. DavidRD

DavidRD Auditioning

Hello, I'm David and I'm a complete newbie to home theatre.

This being said have been reading this forum for about a year on and off and I'm almost ready to purchase (ie: I have almost saved enough money)
    I would like a system as unobtrusive as possible but still sound pretty good.
    Here is what I have picked out...please feel free to make a recommendation if something I have choosen doesn't make sense.

Studio 20 x 4
    B&W Center LCR60 S3
    SVS 20-39 PCi
    Pioneer VSX-74TXVi

Tell me what you think. I picked the small center channel as I'm limited to 18" by the piece of furniture it is going into. The room is around 20x32 with 8' ceilings, the television (Samsung 50" DLP) is about 14 feet from the seating area. This system will be used for home theater with very little music play.

2. Jimi C

Jimi C Screenwriter

Your center channel should be from the same brand and line as your front speakers. Dont get paradigm mains and a B&W center.

Everything else looks great.

3. DavidRD

DavidRD Auditioning

I was afraid of that. I would really like to get a Paradigm center but they don't make one small enough.
    What B&W's do you recommend?

4. Jimi C

Jimi C Screenwriter

Have you gone out and listened to these speakers or are you buying based purly on reviews? If your fine with spending the kind of money you are considering without even seeing these things in person, thats awsome. Hell, I did the same thing with my speakers, granted i spent much less than you are looking to spend. But, If I were to do it over again (and i will), I would spend alot of time auditioning, seeing, touching LISTENING to these speakers in person to ensure that I will be 100% satisfied with my purchase. But, to answer you question anyway..

"What B&W's do you recommend?"