Newbie Has 2?s re: Panny AE100

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dave Simpson, Apr 25, 2002.

1. Dave Simpson

Dave Simpson Second Unit

Hey guys, take it easy on me here; I'm an utter newbie concerning pjs. I'm carefully considering the purchase of a Panasonic PT AE100 projector, and cheaply fixing up my empty basement for my stuff. I've got two simple questions: other than a progressive-scan player and component cables, will I need to purchase any other equipment (I've got all the audio gear I need. For the moment [​IMG] )? Please note, the pj will be used for dvd playback and X-Box use only (no cable, vcr, sat), which leads to my second question: is a projector susceptible to burn-in from video-game use, as RPTVs are? Or can I play to my heart's content? The X-Box consideration will be a deal-breaker for me, as I only have one digital receiver (can't afford a second right now) and as we all know, half the fun of the X-Box is playing in 5.1, right? [​IMG] Thanks for any help, fellas. Cheers!
    DS.

2. Chris PC

Chris PC Producer

If you have a progressive DVD player, I would strongly advise that you find a "transcoder" to convert component to VGA ala RGBVH. Its not just a cable that converts the component cable to VGA, it does something electronically. Best way to use the AE100 is through the VGA port and setting it to WIDE. Go to the AVS forum and find mancubus. He can answer your questions and he's in TO too.

3. JohnnyG

JohnnyG Screenwriter

Dave, I think the only thing you'll need to consider is that the AE100 has only one set of component inputs. If you want to connect both a DVD and the X-Box through component, you'll need a switcher. If your receiver has component video switching you're all set.

LCD is basically immune to burn in, although I've heard talk of pixels 'weakening' over time. Don't know if this is fact or fiction though.

4. Dave Simpson

Dave Simpson Second Unit