newbie greetings -help needed

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by robert reinish, Nov 25, 2003.

1. robert reinish

robert reinish Auditioning

Hi all,

Newbie here entering the brave new world of HDTV. I have several questions as I start building my new system. First some background:

- I just purchased Mitsubishi Diamond WS-55813. Comes tomorrow. Love the set so I had to splurge.

- I have an older SOny DVP-S7700 Was the gold standard when I bought it, but I am told I need to upgrade to get the best out of this TV.

- I have DirectTV but also have antenna going on the house so I can get OTA HD.

Here are my questions . Bear with me as I learn more here:

1. Do I need to upgrade the DVP-S7700? I am told that is not progressive scan. If I need to upgrade, what do folks recommend?

2. I also need to upgrade my Directv receiver. Which one is best for HDTV? I have been told the new Sony is not that great. Any recommendations?

3. Once the dust settles, I am going to buy receiver speaker combo or components to build my surround sound system. Should I purchase my DVD player in a theater in a box package or buy components separately?

2. Shane Morales

Shane Morales Second Unit

Killer TV [​IMG]

1. Definately. Suggestions will depend on how much you want to spend.

3. Seperate components. Stay away from theater in a box packages. Possibilities are nearly endless.

People here are going to ask for info. Budget, listening habits (movies vs music), room size, aesthetics, etc.

3. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Hi Robert. I am going to move your post over to the Audio Video sources where you will likely find more discussion on receivers/sat HD systems. (Dont worry, they are all good guys over there.)

4. robert reinish

robert reinish Auditioning

Budget for HDTV Directtv box is under $600 or so. Being I have a new high end HDTV (55 inch Mitsu Diamond) I want to get the best performance I can and have most input choices possible.