Newbie Cable Help

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Brad_klein, Mar 20, 2006.

1. Brad_klein

Brad_klein Auditioning

Ive been lurking on here for a little while and now I need some help. I bought my TV almost a year ago and the guy I got it from told me he would get me a deal on the cables im still waiting!!!

I have some knowledge of hooking things up but im not sure which cables to get (what ever I get will be through Blue Jean). The way the room is laid out I have the TV and cable box on one side of the room and the receiver, DVD, CD, PS2, and computer on the other side and the cables that connect to the TV have to go around a vaulted ceiling and will be 75' long.
    My component list:
    Mitsubishi 48" HDTV 48515 just about anything connects to it
    Comcast Cable HD box DVI, SVideo, comp and RCA out and optical audio out
    DVD Sony DVP S5300 Component, Svideo, RCA audio out Digital out and optical coax
    Receiver Sony STRDE895 TV & DVD Component in and 1 out S video ins and outs and a bunch of digital ins

So with all that am I on the right track
    1 DVI for TV and Cable box 3'
    1 RCA audio Cable box to receiver 75'
    1 Component receiver to TV 75'
    1 Component DVD to receiver 3'
    1 Svideo PS2 to Receiver 3'
    the CD and computer are RCA so thats easy and all the speaker cable is hooked up

Any help or advice would be great
    Thanks
    Brad Klein

2. Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi Screenwriter

Not sure about what issues you may run into with the lengths, but I can tell you that you are missing all of your digital audio connections. You need digital connections (optical audio or digital coaxial, depending on your receiver/dvd/cable box/ps2 connections) between your source devices and your receiver. Without them, you can't get 5.1 digital audio and that's the whole point of this exercise! [​IMG]

3. Dick Knisely

Dick Knisely Second Unit