What's new

Newbie Buying Complete System - Need Your Help (1 Viewer)

Rob_M_R_L

Auditioning
Hello, everyone. I'm brand new to the world of home-theater entertainment and have been doing a lot of research on my first system. I would like to get you guys' opinion on the following configuration:

TV: Sony 36XBR800 ($2,000)
Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR800 ($1,000)
Speakers - Zone 1: Acoustic Research HC6 ($400)
In-Ceiling Speakers - Zone 2-3: B&W CCM20 ($400)
DVD Changer: Sony DVP-NC685V ($250)

I would like to stay on $4,000 range for everything. I also will use the system a lot for music, more so than DVDs. I am interested in how you see all these components working together….

Any feedback and suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

PS: Sorry if I posted in the wrong place… I didn’t see a “general” forum for all the help I need (TV, receiver, speakers, and DVD)

Steve Lucas

Stunt Coordinator
Welcome Rob,
I can't tell you much about how your components will work together. All I can really do is tell you my thoughts if it were my money I was spending.
First- the price of your tv (36"?) is in the range of some of the more inexpensive front projectors. IMHO nothing immerses you in the movie experience like a huge picture, assuming you have a place for a screen and projector.
Second-Your receiver is a good choice, but I think you are cheating yourself badly on speakers. There is no way a set of 5 speakers (or 6 if the sub woofer is included)priced at 400 can be in the same quality universe as your receiver. If it were me, I think I might look at a slightly less expensive receiver (ie. Marantz SR-6200 @ $800), leave the zone 2 and 3 speakers till later and have $1000 to spend on speakers for the main system. The Marantz is a very nice unit (I have one) that is rated at 105watts X 6 with all 6 channels driven, unlike most that are rated with one channel driven, so it really is an overachiever compared to units with similar specs.