What's new

newbie, anticipating new system, your thoughts (1 Viewer)

I'm new at all this, getting some new equipement due to arrive in the next couple days. I'm getting anxious to see how it sounds. In the meantime, I'd like to hear from some of you experts with your high-end systems to fill me in on what to expect.

Receiver: Yamaha HTR 5860 (this is new)
DVD: JVC XV-SA600BK
Front Spkrs: Def Tech DR7
Center Spkr: Yamaha NS C55
Surround Sprs: Yamaha NSE55
Sub: SVS PB10-ISD (this is new)
TV: too embarassed to say - that's the next upgrade!!!

I know the center and surround speakers are nowhere near the quality of my 2 front mains, but they were a present from my wife 2 years ago (my old receiver was pro logic, never got much surround from it), so went with what I think is a good sub. Thoughts?

Thanks -

Mike

Cees Alons

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cees Alons
Mike,

Welcome to the forum.

EXCELLENT choice to add the sub first - and such a good one too!

Don't forget to set the other speakers to "small" in your receiver. The lowest bass (they can't handle) will be sent to your sub then. This way you really won't have to retire those surrounds any time soon.
Although the same is true for the center speaker, your next replacement could be: buying the same speaker (or similar) as your other main speakers. This will enhance the "evenness" of your front sound stage.

But for the moment, I'd say: don't worry, your going in for a treat when your gear arrives.

Cees

DavidSGT

Stunt Coordinator
Hiya Mike,

After the Tv, change the ctr and you are good to go. The surr can come much later in my opinion.
Then just kick back and enjoy.

Regards.
David SGT

A question about crossover settings:

My receiver is here, the sub should be here next week. I did some searching on the internet, my fronts are rated from 22 hz to 28 khz (knew they got low, didn't think that low - Def Tech DR7 w/tuned port). My cheapo center is 70 hz to 30khz, and the cheapo surrounds are 80 hz to 30 khz.