Newbie-Advice on Receivers building system.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Richard Ferns, Aug 22, 2006.

1. Richard Ferns

Nov 5, 2003
    I am a newbie to Home Theatre and sound systems. I do not have time to do much reading on the plethora of knowledge and systems that are out there. Hence I am seeking your help in this area. I wish to start building my system slowly within the next 6 to 8 months. Initially, I would like to purchase a reciever and some good speaker mainly for music. Althought eventually I would like to expand to a full blown HT system. I do own a Sony DVD player which is an older model but works just as well for me as I dont watch a lot of DVDs. At the moment I am mainly looking for something that produces good quality crisp sound for tunes.

Firstly, let me ask am I starting on the right foot buy first purchasing a receiver and maybe a couple of speakers ? To this reciever I hope to hook up my DVD player, CD player, TV and PC. I hope to watch movies from my PC and DVD player and play MP3s from my PC and also tunes from my CD player.
    If the price does not go too high I would like to have multi-room capability for the reciever. I dont know anything about the various techonologies/formats that are available for recievers now. So here are some questions that I hope you can answer.

1) What is HDMI and do I really need it ?
    2) Is THX a big factor or is it fading out ? Considering I've never had a HT system will I really find the need for THX ?
    3) To start with, how many speakers are most essential ?
    4) Which recievers (brand names) should I consider, which models and why ?
    5) Which speakers should I consider ?
    6) Is it disadvantageous to mix manufacturers when building a system with say a Denon receiver with a Sony DVD player and a Marantz equilizer or Amp ?
    7) Is it best to buy online or local only ?