What's new

Newb needs help hooking up my ht. please. (1 Viewer)

Dan Shellabarge

Auditioning
Hi all.
This is a great forum. I’m learning a lot, but I am still a newb so I have a few questions about hooking up my home theater. After scanning the forums trying to figure out what to buy within my budget this is what I decided on:

Pioneer DSX-D811S
JBL NSP-1 speaker package
Sony SA-WM40 subwoofer

I already have:

Sony 5-disc DVD—DVP-NC615
Sony VCR (no S-video)
36” WEGA KV-36FS100
Motorola digital cable box (no s-video) Might not use this, maybe just regular cable.

What would be the best way to hook this together, and what cables would I need. I have one set of componet video cables, (Monster, was suckered at bb) that I had connected from dvd to tv. My TV is not HD so do I really need component cables? I would like to run everything thru the receiver to make it more simple. On the speakers I think I have that figured out, but on the subwoofer I have about a 50 ft. run. I was going to get a 50 ft. 75 ohm RG-6 coaxial from RS with the f-rca adapters (saw a few threads on this), but the guy at RS said this wouldn’t work and to let him know if it did. What do you guys think. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Dan,
You might want to take a look at the information I provided on this thread several months ago. It should tell you everything you need.
I was going to get a 50 ft. 75 ohm RG-6 coaxial from RS with the f-rca adapters (saw a few threads on this), but the guy at RS said this wouldn’t work and to let him know if it did. What do you guys think.
I think this guy should consider a new occupation. As you’ve already seen, lot of people on this and other Forums use RG-6 for subwoofer and other audio cabling.
Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Dan Shellabarge

Auditioning