New

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Zack<P>, May 24, 2004.

1. Zack<P>

Zack<P> Agent

hey everyone this is my first time on the boards .afte hours of searching for a decent home theatre forum to join .i am living overseas in sicily and just recently bout a nice 50 inch hitachi multisystem HDTV.it is rear projection now my only problem now is I have been told the best place for a center channel is even with the tweeters of your main speakers .with my old setup i had no problem with this .now with my new TV i am forced to place the center channel on top of the TV .my question is can i make my center channel into a rear center channel ,and use the speakers on the TV for a center ?before i forget has anyone heard of B&W speakers and would 500 american bucks be a decent price for the 800 serries ?

2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    Hi Zack, welcome to the Forum!

It’s true that having all three front speakers on the same plane is optimal, it’s not the end of the world if you can’t do that. It’s actually pretty common to have the center speaker on top of the TV.

There are a couple of options you can try: You can place the center speaker on a stand just below the screen. That might place it lower than the L/R speakers, but it would be closer to a level plane than having it on top.

Or, you could put it on top of the TV and prop up the back of it, to angle it downward and aim it at the seating. That’s what I did.

Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt

3. Zack<P>

Zack<P> Agent