New upgrade..HTPC..

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Dave_vega, Nov 7, 2004.

  1. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    here's a few shots of my recent upgrade..the TV is a 51" and this is my setup..thanks for looking!

    ps..the pics don't do it justice..I should have had a tripod and these were all handheld..but they are not that bad considering..


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. JoshGivens

    JoshGivens Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What kind of audio card do you have to have in your PC to generate the sound in 5.1 or higher to your receiver? Is it just a digital output?

    I know PC's but I'm not sure about this aspect.

    Looks nice BTW.
     
  3. Sami Kallio

    Sami Kallio Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Josh I have a soundblaster live 5.1 card 24 bit..to connect to the receiver you get a mono 1/8 plug to mono RCA from radioshack..plug it into your digital coaxial input on your receiver and the 1/8 plug into the SPDIF output on the sound card..then just enable SPDIF in the PC audio settings..works perfect..only thing I have to do is change the output to 48 Khz from 96 khz when doing anything other than watching DVD's..
     
  5. Chris_HA

    Chris_HA Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What a pain. Makes me happy I gave up my SB 5.1 card a while ago. Get a M-Audio Revolution 5.1 or 7.1 card with has an RCA Coax-Out on the back. I never need to change any settings, and it passes DTS every time, something I was having a problem doing with the SB card.
     
  6. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's no pain at all..I can leave the settings at 48khz for everything and I wouldn't be able to tell the difference..I actually usually leave it at 48khz..I can pass DTS, DD5.1 through zoom player and ffdshow..I have 0 complaints at all with the SB card..quite nice..
     

Share This Page