What's new

New tv incoming and confused about HDMI with rest of setup (1 Viewer)

S0lidFIsher

Auditioning
Real Name
Al
Hi guys, New here and hoping to get some help before I make my new tv purchase this coming Saturday. I have never used an HDMI cable before because my tv would only support component or DVI. I know tv's today have about 3-4 HDMI ports but I don't know how many I need to run everything with digital sound and image. My current setup consists of:
  • CRT Sony Vega
  • Digital tv terminal (telus Optik)
  • Sony str-k900 receiver
  • Xbox 360
  • PS3
The tv is not connected to receiver in any way currently. I would like this to change. The current tv is connected to the Digital tv terminal via Component cables and RCA audio cables. The tv is also connected to either Xbox 360 or PS3 at any one time via Component cables and an Optical audio cable that is also shared between the consoles. The receiver seems to only have 2 HDMI inputs and 1 HDMi output I'm hoping that these are enough ports and that there aren't HDMI version/compatibility issues I need to worry about. My goal is to somehow have all my devices plugged in simultaneously using only HDMI cables (Optical /HDMI cable combo if necessary) when I purchase my new tv this weekend and have everything able to play digital video and audio through both the tv and receiver. I basically want to be able to watch tv with audio coming through my receiver or just through the tv speakers if I so chose. I want to be able to play my console games in the same way without all this constant plugging and unplugging. The trouble is I simply don't understand what I need or if this is even possible. I hope this doesn't sound too confusing but I hope some one can help. I really appreciate any serious help with this. regards,

CB750

Screenwriter
Real Name
Bill