New TV advice... ~18' viewing distance - want to purchase asap

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Ben_Beckey, Sep 27, 2004.

1. Ben_Beckey

Ben_Beckey Auditioning

Hi all, first post here...

I'm seeing a lot of recommendations for Mitsubishi stuff, which is good, because that's what brand I've been looking at.

In any case, my living room is 20' long, and the couch and TV are on opposite ends. I was thinking I should probably go all out and get a 65" screen. Am I thinking correctly or would smaller be okay?

Also, what model? I don't have any HD providers in my town yet, so as long as I can get an external box or whatever down the road then I'm not worried about having the HD tuner built in. I may have worded that wrong... I'm pretty new to home theatre stuff, so, please excuse the ignorance.

I'm looking to get this TV asap... maybe even today. Gotta watch the playoffs on it! (huge baseball fan) Thanks in advance all!

2. John S

John S Producer

20', I'd say 60" min... I try to match it to the same relative field of view I get in a theater sitting 3/4ths the way on to the back most seats in a real birck and mortor theater.

3. Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

18 feet is a little long for even a 65" screen. I would think of moving my couch closer. Anyway, do not be afraid to purchase the 65", you are definitely not too close.

4. Ben_Beckey

Ben_Beckey Auditioning

Alright, sounds good.

So I should be happy going with the 65" Mitsubishi, then? I think the model # is WS65315... $2300.

There's also WS-65513 and WS-65515 models that are more expensive... I think they have the HD tuner built in, but I didn't know if one was just a newer model and what the difference was. The 65513 is on sale for about $2450, and the 65515 is $2800. Any reason to go with either of those over the 65315?

5. Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc Producer

Jim