New to Projectors

Discussion in 'Displays' started by IanHummel, Sep 11, 2005.

1. IanHummel

IanHummel Auditioning

I'm new to the whole projector scene and had a couple of quick questions.

Let's say I have an HD box from time warner, would I just run the component cables from the HD box directly to the projector and receive a HD quality projection on the screen? In order for this to happen, does the projector have to just be HD ready?

I've read that a DLP projector will provide a smoother image, and a LCD will provide a crisper image, but with some pixalization.

I'm looking to move into a new place soon and am very interested in purchasing a projector that can display HD quality images to watch sports on. Any additional information that you all could give me would be excellent.

Thanks,
    Ian

2. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    OK, it looks like you are in the market for a projector that can display 1280x720 as a native resolution. There are a handful of decently priced units in this arena, the most popular being the Panasonic L700, Sanyo Z3, and a few others that can be recommended here. Also, there is the popular Infocus 4805 which displays at a slightly lower resolution but with decent results.

What is your budget? Also keep in mind that there are new models being announced soon as well.

3. Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc Producer

Jim
    Yes, you run the component cables from HD box to the projector. You need to try to view a DLP and LCD projector to see which type you like better.

4. Brian Fellmeth

Brian Fellmeth Supporting Actor

Better than decent I would say. It looks like real HD even though some pixels are missing. If the budget won't allow a 1280x720 machine, then the 4805 is an option. Sports look great.

5. IanHummel

IanHummel Auditioning