What's new

New to projectors...any tips or advice? (1 Viewer)

MarcusDiddle

Stunt Coordinator
I'm moving soon into a house that I've already put an extensive amount of work into the basement. It's fully prepped for a home-theater. Problem is, my 34" Wega just isn't gonna cut it in that big room. So I'm looking into a projector instead. I'm new to projectors, and have no idea what I should be looking at first. Price is gonna be a factor; would like to keep it under $1500, but don't know if I can get a quality projector for that price. Any more than that and I might as well go with a rear-projection LCD. What are your thoughts? Any advice is appreciated!

James Phung

Second Unit
What is your seating distance, room size, how big of picture do you want, and do you prefer DLP or LCD or does it not matter? What do you plan on watching most percentage wise? DVD? HDTV? Gaming?

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
For that price you may be eligible for the Sanyou Z2, Panasonic 700, or the Infocus 4805.

Dave, how about providing a possible solution/answer too rather than a quick re-direct? After all, you are here!

Ian-Fl

Second Unit
Go to Projectorcentral.com
There's lots of information on individual projectors including throw distances and some good articles.
The Optima H31 comes to mind as a entry level projector as well.

BrianShort

Supporting Actor