What's new

New to HT; What do you think about my setup? (1 Viewer)

tweber2

Auditioning
Real Name
Tim
I'm brand new to home theater. I've never even owned a surround sound system. We're in the middle of finishing our basement and we've dedicated some space and money for a basic home theater system. I was hoping to get some feedback on the different components I've purchased. I've got 30 days (more or less) to change my mind and make any exchanges. Here's what I've bought so far:

Panasonic 50" Plasma TV - Model TH-50PX60U ($1999 + Tax; no shipping)
Sanus VMAA26 Wall Mount ($282; no tax or shipping)
Onkyo Receiver - Model TX-SR674 ($550 + tax; no shipping)
Klipsch Quintet III Speakers ($249 + tax; no shipping)
Klipsch Synergy Sub 10" ($199 + tax; no shipping)
Oppo DVD Player - Model DV-970HD ($149; no tax or shipping)
Monster Power HTS 1000 MKII Power Center ($99; no tax or shipping)
Logitech Universal Remote - Model Harmony 880 ($153; no tax or shipping)

I'm planning on plugging the DVD player and cable box into the receiver with HDMI cables. I believe I can run one HDMI cable from the receiver to the TV. I don't think I will need to run separate audio cables. Can anyone comment? Will this be an easy system to setup and operate?

Anyways, spending more money isn't much of an option. I need the whole project to be under $4K. I've got a couple of hundred dollars left for cables right now. Am I missing anything obvious? I would have loved to go 1080P but that isn't really in the budget.

Please tell me what you think. ANY feedback would be appreciated. I know some of you guys are pros, so let me have it... Thanks a ton.

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim
My first thought is that's a small screen size. But I don't know what size the room will be, and what your seating distance will be from screen. Can you answer those 2 questions? Have you considered a front projector?

tweber2

Auditioning
Real Name
Tim