New to Home Theater...Anyone have a spare paddle?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Keith Arment, Apr 9, 2002.

1. Keith Arment

Keith Arment Auditioning

Apr 8, 2002
    I am new to Home Theater, but anxious to get my feet wet!

I am currently in the process of refinishing about 1500 SF of basement space, and I'm lucky enough to have a sliver of the space allocated to a media/home theater room. This space will be approx. 13'x 23' x 8'.

I now have the daunting task of selecting the components that will comprise my system.

I have investigated several screen alternatives (and have viewed many commentaries on this site), and I am leaning towards a Phillips/Marantz PV6480W. Anyone have any opinions on this unit? I am able to get a factory refurbished unit for 1/2 the retail price...any concerns there? I like the screen size and picture quality this unit provides. My primary picture experience will be via cable or DSS signal. I also hope to enjoy DVD's and limited HDTV channels (currently 2 in my area) on this unit.

This will be my first experience with theater sound, so where should I begin? My original budget allowed for the same dollars allocated to screen, rcvr/dvd, and speakers.

Because I currently have a blank slate (both physically in the unfinished basement, and figuratively within my lack of knowledge/experience), I would like to ensure that I make sound decisions at this time to obtain an environment that will make my experience a real delight.

Kudo's in advance for any assistance that you all can provide...K!
  2. Chad Isaacs

Chad Isaacs Supporting Actor

Feb 20, 2000
    Well,it is impossible for any of us to pick out your speakers,every one sounds different to everybody.If I had the luxury of starting all over,I would select my speakers and then a reciever or amp that is well known to work with said speakers.