What's new

New To Home Audio (1 Viewer)

Hi,

I'm new to the Home Audio scene so please humor me.

I am thinking of using the JBL NSP1 speaker package along w/ a Pioneer VSX-D811S reciever as my first Home Audio set-up. Does this sound like a good match-up? I'm open to all sugestions but I'd like to spend under $1K for the whole set-up.

Thanks,

James Morrison

Jeff_Fitz

Stunt Coordinator
For someone who is new to the game, you seem to have done your homework. I think you'll find numerous threads on this site that talk about what great values each of your choices are.
As far as receivers go, you'll be hard-pressed to find a 6.1 capable receiver with the same quality and feature set as the Pioneer for the same money ($399). A few other 6.1 receivers that you might want to look at are the Panasonic SA-HE100 ($299), the Kenwood VR-6060 ($499), the Onkyo TX-SR600 ($499), and the Yamaha RXV-630 / HTR-5560 (they are essentially the same receiver with a price of $499). You should be able to do better than the prices I have listed. IMHO you should concentrate your efforts on the Pioneer and the Yamaha.
As far as speakers go, I am sure our JBL-crazy :) friend Phil will be extremely pleased with your choice. If you want a few more ideas, you might want to check out this buyers guide.
Hope that helps,
Jeff

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
In the $499 range, there are few receivers better than the Marantz SR5200. I recently helped a friend put together a system along the lines of what you are looking at, and got the whole thing for right about $1K (not including any sources - CD, DVD, etc...).

Marantz SR5200 - $549 (You could drop down to the 4200 for $399)
JBL NSP-1 - $250
Sony SA-WM40 - $150

I was quite impressed with the setup for the price paid. Definitely give as many components a listen before you buy.

Paul_Fisher

Screenwriter
As always, I agree with John. My opinion is that the Marantz is the best receiver for around $500 or less.

felix_suwarno