What's new

New to Big Screens and Widescreens...Need Advice (1 Viewer)

Kevin_Hu

Auditioning
Hi all!

I am just errr.....'getting the go' as you would call it from my wife...hahaha....to get a Big Screen (4:3) or Widescreen (16:9) TV. I am Completely new to this. I have no idea which would be better to get or why.

Here are our viewing habits....
Myself:
-- I want Movies mostly in all formats...mostly action flicks. VHS and DVD but trying to go all DVD.
-- Regular cable sometimes. Mostly movie channels such as TNT, TBS, etc...along with the History channel and so on.

My Wife:
-- mostly regular Network TV and some movies.

My kids:
-- LOTS of movies, mostly Disney and the Cartoon channel.

We....or I should say 'I' am looking in the 1500 to 2500 price range. What does everyone recommend as far as Big Screen or Widescreen and why and also what brands are good and which should I avoid? Lastly where should I look to purchase?

Thanks in advance!!!

---Kevin

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
hi kevin -
some random thoughts:
first, let me say my next big-screen is DEFINITELY gonna be a wide-screen. there's no way i'm gonna buy a 4x3. :)
but...
the primary thing you'll need to think about is which format do you watch most often. right now, the majority of tv is broadcast in 4x3 - i think that will stay the norm for some time. based upon your listing, that does sound like the majority of your viewing.
however, since you are getting into dvd, a wide-screen may be a nice choice. widescreens definitely have the "wow factor", and with letterboxed dvd's, you'll enjoy more of the picture.