What's new

New to Anime (1 Viewer)

Richard Fuller

Auditioning
Hi there folks I'm kind of new to Anime have been watching the DragonballZ series and think it's great except that it's taking them forever to finish it. Is there another anime similar to Dragonball Z???

Damien Montanile

Stunt Coordinator
Hey Rich,

If you havent found it already, there is a very decent and informative thread devoted to anime its actually the continuation of a thread that spanned 600+ posts (might have to search for the original thread). In these threads you will gather a decent amount of information to get you going on an anime fest. There are definitly suggestions for you to check out there.

When you say "another Anime Similar to DBZ", do you mean as in Artwork, Storyline, Concept etc??

Good Luck,

Damien

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member
Given that DBZ is 300 tortourous eps, it does take awhile

for them to use their "actors" to dub it

You will grow out of DBZ soon enough(I hope anyway). Why not try something different?

Scott Thomas

Second Unit
You might want to try Ranma 1/2 (first season box set just came out)

Its a martial arts comedy with less "energy attacks"

its different because the main character changes into a girl when he splashed with cold water and turns back into a guy when is splashed hot water.

Not to mentioned other friends and foes with similar curses

Morgan Jolley

Senior HTF Member
I suggest you start off with some of the better TV anime, like Outlaw Star. Then move onto Cowboy Bebop, which is on Cartoon Network from midnight to 1 AM on thursday and sunday. My favorite anime series (and the one that pulled me fully away from DBZ) is Neon Genesis Evangelion, and is IMO the best anime ever made. Serial Experiments: Lain is also good. Try checking out Akira, Princess Mononoke, and Ghost in the Shell (all 3 are movies).

None of those are like DBZ in any way. Closest thing would be Akira. Then again, DBZ is over 15 years old...

Damien Montanile