New subwoofer project suggestions........

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Chris Brock, Jan 2, 2004.

1. Chris Brock

Chris Brock Second Unit

I am planning on starting a new subwoofer project. After some research I think I am looking at using a 15" Dayton DVC and housing it in a ported enclosure with 8 cubic feet of internal volume, I would tune it around 20hz and I would use a Rythmik 350 plate amp from acoustic-visions. Does anyone have any suggestions or comments about this project?

Thanks!!

2. TimForman

TimForman Supporting Actor

Should be okay although I've no experience with the Rythmik amp. I have heard good things about PE's 250W amp which has found favor with many builders. Your proposal looks to be straight out of WinISD. It's similar to the Adire Tempest 214 liter vented enclosure which I've built. Will you be using one vent or two? What about stuffing?

3. darren_s

darren_s Agent

Only comments I can make is that is one big box, I made a 5 cubic foot box and need a dolly to move it around LOL.

4. Bob K

Bob K Stunt Coordinator

I'll second Darren -- assuming the box will be made out of MDF and well braced, 8 cubic feet will weigh a ton.

How do you guys move these things around? I built a sub in a 20" cube (internal). Anticipating how heavy it would be, I put mine on wheels so I would be able to move it around and then had to buy a hand truck to get it up from the basement!

5. TimForman

TimForman Supporting Actor

Hand truck and French doors. I had to install the French doors to get the big screen in anyway. [​IMG]

6. Jake K

Jake K Stunt Coordinator