New sub project underway!!! Pic!!!!

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by SteveSpoon, Mar 18, 2005.

  1. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After practicing up on my two 8" Dayton's, it was time to tackle the mighty 12"DVC from Dayton, 250 watt plate amp, and 1" MDF enclosure.

    Don't have any time for more info at this time, but here's a quick pic ..............more to follow!!

    Steve

    [​IMG]
     
  2. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What the heck.........work can wait!! Here's another pic. Massive bracing on the inside.

    Steve

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Mattak

    Mattak Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks nice! What are you cutting with?
     
  4. steve all

    steve all Extra

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    looks like quality work to me for sure! [​IMG]
     
  5. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wish I could take credit for the fine cuts on the MDF. It's that (and I believe it is now discontinued) Tempest kit from Parts Express that I've finally gotten around to putting together.

    The cuts in the kit are very accurate. Just a matter of glue and nailing.

    Steve
     
  6. Jason Dalton

    Jason Dalton Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That looks like one damn stout cabinet...mmmm, stout...
     
  7. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another pic:

    [​IMG]

    I really don't know what the heck I'm doing with it though. Just lining the walls with that foam stuff from Parts Express and plan on leaving it sealed. I don't have a clue on how to "tune it", so guess I'll just have to leave it sealed.

    Cabinet is a Parts Express 3.0 cubic foot behemoth. It is very heavy.

    Anyway, I'll send a couple more pics along with the progress I make with it.

    Steve
     
  8. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Optimum size sealed enclosure for the 12" DVC is 1.2 cubic feet. Anything larger and you are at risk of bottoming the driver. This was deterimined a couple of years ago on the PE tech talk board.

    Since we know it's a 3 cubic foot cabinet, you can tune it by putting in a 3" PSP flared port (available from PE). This will give you something very similar to the Adire Alignment designed for the Shiva.

    -Robert
     
  9. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Robert. Guess I'll get the ole' Parts Express catalog back out!! Needed "feet" for the sub to sit on, anyway. Was going to make them, but since I'll be looking into a port, guess I'll just have them send me some "feet" as well. Thanks.

    Steve
     
  10. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh man, I just knew this was going to happen.........the reason I've been putting this project off is because of all the different "ways" I could go with it.......sealed, ported, etc.

    I looked in the Parts Express catalog and am not sure which one to order. Any help on this?

    Any other suggestions or things I'm overlooking? Thank you.

    Steve
     
  11. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    3" flared port

    You will have a little less than 85L when you subtract the port displacement. Comparing that to the Adire Alignment, you will be tuned a little higher than 20hz.

    -Robert
     
  12. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks a lot for the link, Robert. Now, with my current configuration, driver mounted on the bottom of the cabinet, plate amp in the back, where do I mount the port? On the front?

    Sorry my questions are on the border of pre-school. Even though I know next to nothing about how to build this stuff, I still, have a lot of fun doing it!! [​IMG]


    Thank you.

    Steve
     
  13. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh yeah.........how long should the tube be cut to? Thank you again.

    Steve
     
  14. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Mount the port where ever you have room to put it. Inside the box, make sure the opening is not obstructed by a brace or side.

    Leave the port the same length it comes. No need to change it.

    -Robert
     
  15. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you. I'll be ordering it Monday.

    Steve
     
  16. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One more question...........how to cut the hole for the port? I had real good luck cutting the hole for the driver since the circle was so large, and, if I was off just a little, it wouldn't matter. Used a jibsaw.

    But a small hole like that.........what to do?

    Thanks.

    Steve
     
  17. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dang, one more question. I have lined two walls with foam. Is this the best thing to do? Line all the walls.....line none? Any guidance on this one!

    Thanks again.

    Steve
     
  18. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Cut a 5.75" diameter hole for the port. It has a flange that will cover the opening if it isn't perfect. Use a jig saw blade designed for cuting circles. link It's the 6th blade in the picture.

    Just line the walls with open cell foam.

    -Robert
     
  19. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Looks really nice. Love the build quality.
     
  20. SteveSpoon

    SteveSpoon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I'm very happy with the quality of the kit. The cuts are spot on. I don't know if this kit can be found anymore or not. I can't remember seeing kits that were 1" thick anymore. Lots of 3/4", but not any 1".

    Once I get the cabinet finished like I want and mount the driver and amp, gonna need a fork lift to move it around!! Dang this is HEAVY!! [​IMG]

    Steve
     

Share This Page