New Sonotube Material

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Fred Seger, Jun 18, 2001.

1. Fred Seger

Fred Seger Stunt Coordinator

A customer of mine came in today with a piece of PVC pipe that was 16" in diameter. Maybe some of you have seen PVC this big, but I never have. The walls were 1/2" thick and he said that it also came in larger sizes. Price was about $10/ft.
    Any reason why this wouldn't work great as a sub tube. It would be slightly heavier than a sonotube but finishing would be easier - the smooth surface would just have to be painted. I don't know what the resonant freqency of this stuff is though.
    If he has some sections left over form the job I think I might try making a sub or two.

2. Jin E

Jin E Second Unit

I'm no expert... but I would definitly worry about resonance. Take a peice and hit it with your nuckles. What type of sound does it make? I imagine you would want a dull thud. Any echoing down the tube I would guess would be bad. I would also guess it would be hard to dampen one of these things. I would love to get a piece of that and give it a try. I've been itching to build a 16-18" diameter Shiva similar to my world's cheapest $81 sono-sub (as seen in my Sig).
    ------------------
    -Jin
    My Theater

3. Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt Producer

actually I'd think it would do very well. Once you get the end caps on it should stiffen the tube quite a bit. just add in some fiberglass around the outside and its worth a try. The added weight might help it a bit too [​IMG]
    ------------------
    http://www.attcanada.ca/~itisi

4. Greg Monfort

Greg Monfort Supporting Actor