What's new

New setup, not getting a suround effect (1 Viewer)

JohnnyW

Grip
Hello,

This is my first attempt at setting up a multi-channel system. I am using a Pioneer VSX-49TX reciever and

2 Paradigm Studio 100's,CC center, 2 ADP's on the sides , 2 Studio 40's in the rear and Servo 15 sub,

The room is 25'X25', which places the sides and rears about 12 from the main seating position and the fronts and center are about 9'away.

The front soundstage is all I had hoped for, but I am dissapointed in the "surrond effect" I am getting, (or the lack of).

I have adjusted the channel levels from one extreme to the other. I have tried all the listening modes,and went through the auto setup many times. And the distances that auto setup detects is accurate.

The only time I hear the side or rear speakers is during effects ie:gunshots,flyovers,etc.

But; if I walk around the room and get very close to the rear and side speakers I hear a constant soundtrack and dialoge.I have the sides up about 6' and I have even tried moving the rears to within 6' from the seating posistion,

with only a slight improvement.

As I stated ,the front 3 speakers sound great,but they are all I hear 99% of the time.Am I expecting too much from the other four?.

Thank You

JohnnyW

Zbigniew

Stunt Coordinator
That is precisely a sign of a good setup :).

My preferred way to demo Logic 7 is:

seat a visitor in sweet spot (BTW - I run phantom center);

plug in a nice CD; after a fw minutes, ask visitor to close eyes, tell him I am switching to 2 channel, and ask him to pinpoint speakers with closed eyes. Usually it is 30 deg miss.

Then we close eyes again, switch from 2 channel to Logic 7 (for you - DTS or DPL-II) and once again pinpoint speakers.

It is much easier to find voices and instruments than speakers.

If that is the impression you are getting, that is it - it is soundstage.