new set-up problem(amp - pre amp)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by wayne rec, Jul 21, 2002.

  1. wayne rec

    wayne rec Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just purchased a amp/pre amp set up. the pre amp also has a tuner built in(NAD 1600, the amp as a NAD C270). i have only tried the tuner so far, but there is barely any sound coming from it. i am funning rca's from the pre amp out to the amps fixed in. any suggestions? thanks,
     
  2. Pete Gia

    Pete Gia Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the pre-amp have a button that says "Low Level"? If so that is the problem. Turn the volume down,turn the unit on,then press the low-level button. That set-up shoud sound great!(I love NAD) Hope this helps--Pete
     
  3. wayne rec

    wayne rec Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i tried that, but that is not the problem. thanks for the input.
     
  4. Mike Matheson

    Mike Matheson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wayne,

    I'm not familiar with your exact components. Could you maybe provide a little further info? For instance, are there any other output jacks on the back of your preamp? Are there any other input jacks on the back of your amp? Do you know for certain that the RCA cords you're using are functional (you've tried them on another system, etc.)? Do you expect you'll have an opportunity to hook another source up to your preamp soon?
     
  5. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,185
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    You did connect the antenna, right? [​IMG]
    Also, if it has a tape monitor loop, make sure it is not engaged.
    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  6. wayne rec

    wayne rec Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks guys! i tried everything i could think of. it has got to be something simple, but i just can't get it figured out. i have "thrown" every switch on both units, but to no avail..., yet[​IMG]
     

Share This Page