What's new

New receiver: Onkyo 607 vs. Pioneer VSX-819H-K? any other suggestions? (1 Viewer)

Keith_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Kyle
Hey all, I've been running a Sony HTiB for about 9 years now. About 2 weeks ago my receiver just stopped working and will not come out of "protect" mode no matter what I do. As far as I can tell, the speakers that came with my system are ok and it just appears to be the reciever.

Therefore, I'm now in the market for a new receiver. I'd like something that is capable of 5.1 as well as doing the new high def sound formats since I'm doing blu-ray now. HDMI switching is required somewhat as well because the two hdmi ports on my tv are filled and I may have some more hdmi equipment coming this year.

The speakers I'm using are Sony satellite speakers which I foresee myself replacing probably in the next couple of years.

Thus far, in my research, I've found three receivers that interest me: Onkyo TX-SR606, Onkyo TX-SR607, and Pioneer VSX-819H-K. I'm leaning towards the SR607 or the Pioneer but am also still looking to see if there are any other models that will do.

What is everyone's opinion? Are there any other receivers that someone would like to point me towards?

As a side note, all of the current receivers I've been seeing only accept banana plugs. My current speakers do not have banana plugs, my research seems to indicate that I'm capable of buying banana plugs to connect to my speaker cable and connect to the receiver, would this be a correct assumption?

Thanks!

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed
You might also want to look at the Yamaha RX-V465. I, personally, would go with that, or the Onkyo. I have no experience with Pioneer receivers. I know that some people like them though.

Yes, you should be able to connect banana plugs to your speaker wire, to connect to the receiver. If the speaker wire has the proprietary, color coded connectors, it may not work too well. The wire on those isn't much thicker than thread..........