New receiver, inferior speakers, help!

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by David.Hagar, Jan 6, 2005.

1. David.Hagar

David.Hagar Auditioning

So I just bought a Denon 5805 receiver. Before I had a kenwood receiver and some, I guess, decent Sony bookshelves.

I am wanting to purchase a house soon, new construction, so I will be able to do what I want with setting up a home theater.

The room size I want will hopefully be about 20x25-30ft. I want to spend about 15-20k on speakers. I am a newbie and so I am suspect to going in to Ultimate Electronics, like I did today, and the guy shows me some Kef speakers. They were running about 3500. They sounded great but again, I am accustomed to bookshelf speakers. I know I shouldn't be buying speakers from places like Ultimate Electronics and so forth so this is where I am looking for your guys experience.

Where should I buy and what kind should I buy? Hopefully my estimate for speakers will result in a very decent sound stage. The guy at Ultimate also told me about some overhead sound effects speaker that runs off of a different decoder.

Any and all help will be appreciated.

Thanks

2. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    Did that thing come with a dolly? [​IMG] What's wrong with KEF? If you liked the way they sounded, go with them. They make bookshelf speakers in every one of their lines. Which of the KEF lines?

3. David.Hagar

David.Hagar Auditioning

Not saying that there is really anything wrong with Kef. Just a newbie when it come to speakers and I was looking for opinions.

The ones he was showing me were the Kef 205 Reference. Like I said awesome sound but then again i am a newbie and was wondering if there is something I can be purchasing for the same price but better quality.

Late

4. John Garcia

John
    Check your area for Paradigm and B&W dealers. Give the Paradigm Studio line and the B&W CM and 700 series a listen.

www.paradigm.ca