new projector around $5000CAD (approx $3500-$4000US)

Discussion in 'Displays' started by david stark, Jul 4, 2004.

1. david stark

david stark Second Unit

Hi all.

I've been kicking around this forum for a couple of years now, just not in this particular section really. Anyways the time has come to finally buy a projector and as the thread title suggests I'm looking to spend about $5000 Canadian (at current exchange rates that comes in at around $3800 US dollars).

What I'm looking for:

native 16:9 projector (I'll mainly be using it for DVD's + HDTV)
    2 sets of component inputs (one for dvd + one for HDTV)
    probably dlp, but could be persuaded to go LCD.
    I'll be able to squeeze in a 100" diagonal 16:9 screen

I have also seen screens can be very expensive (over $2000 CAD) so I'll initially be either picking up a cheap screen or projecting onto a wall for a few months before buying a decent screen (point being that my initial budget does not include screen, but suggestions welcomed for later purchase).

Any suggestions at what to look at? One of my local dealers does sharp and another does infocus so I'll probably be looking in there to get a demo of what they have available.

thanks for any help...

2. frank g.

frank g. Auditioning

The infocus 5700 would be an ideal candidate to your requirements. I am not sure about the (2) sets of component inputs but with most people using video switchers in there receivers or pre-pro,s this should not be a problem. Tons of light output and fantastic reviews on this unit. I have personally compared this projector with a sharp 12000 hd2+ and even though I cant say the two of them are exactly in the same league (the sharp is also twice the price)the picture quality is remarkably close. The infocus is also right in your price range.

3. Max Leung

Max Leung Producer

For a bit more ($6000 CDN or so plus tax) you could get a Benq 8700+. 1280x720 DLP with 5x color wheel.