New Project, budget $11,000, no components yet

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by DaveLL, Jan 22, 2006.

1. DaveLL

DaveLL Auditioning

I have nothing… A clean slate. I sold literally every piece of AV stuff I own less the Xbox (which I plan on using as the DVD player, is that wrong?)

My budget is $11,000, and this includes everything, even chairs. I want a projector system; the floor plan is in the thread below.

(I can't post urls because I'm a noob, but it's post #2912427, so just replace it in the url up top)

Some Parameters:
    -I watch a whole shitload of movies, but have very little understanding of AV stuff. I am not an audio or videophile, I can't tell the finer points of an extremely expensive system
    -however, I do have a massive appreciation for a true theatre experience. To be able to recreate something close to that at home would mean a lot to me. I love movies, I love going to movies. I had a giant rear projection screen, but it still wasn't like the real thing, I want something closer with a larger than life screen and deep rich sound.
    -I will have neighbors, although the walls are thick and roof is extremely thick.
    -I know I want an HD projector system

So what should I buy that will fit my budget?

What should I buy and where should I buy it? I have a best buy gold business rewards card, I think I get 3% off there, if that matters. Should I ever buy anything used? Can I use my xbox as the DVD player, or is that crazy?

2. RickRO

RickRO Stunt Coordinator

DaveLL,

With a budget of 11,000.....

The options are almost as endless as the stars my friend.

Search this and other forums wisely and you too can be successful in your HT adventure.

3. DaveLL

DaveLL Auditioning

Thanks!

What about for your screen?

4. RickRO

RickRO Stunt Coordinator