What's new

New problem with recording off-air onto DVD (1 Viewer)

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
I've been using a cheapo Insignia DVD+/-R/RW recorder for several months now with great success. Most use has been for dubbing from VHS and recording off-air.

And all has been well. Except for the past couple of weeks.

Lately I've been dealing with the fact that various instances when I've been recording off-air have been stopped early. Most times this has happened during a timer-record session when I've been away and have come home and found that I might have only 2 1/2 hours out of a planned 4 hour recording.

Needless to say this is extremely aggravating...especially during baseball playoffs.

The only clue I have is during non-timer recording sessions...such as tonight--when I simply pushed play at the start of a one-hour program and returned to find a message on my DVD-recorder that said Record-blocking signals are detected.

Is my cable company (Time-Warner) sending out some kind of signal to defeat DVD-Recording? Or, are the networks sending out some kind of signal to defeat digital recordings that is being passed-through by T-W?

FWIW, the Insignia recorder has no built-in tuner. I have it connected to a Sony VCR which I am using as a tuner for the unit.

Thanks for any info.

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
This is quickly turning into a situation in which I am expecting this to happen more often than not.

Tonight I only recorded 8 1/2 minutes of a 1-hour timer record. :angry:

I wonder what is going on?

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Google searches on the topic are taking me mostly to forums where people are complaining that they cannot record movies off of premium channels onto their DVD-recorders.

I just want to be clear that I am only trying to use my DVD-recorder to time-shift network programs such as off Fox, CBS & NBC.

Scott Strang

Screenwriter