New NVidia GeForce 4 Go for notebook computers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Robert Burkes, Oct 19, 2002.

1. Robert Burkes

Robert Burkes Second Unit

Has anyone heard anything about the new NVidia GeForce 4 Go video card for notebook computers? Sounds absolutely wonderful. I'm drooling thinking about it. I opted to get a notebook computer because I'm a college student and found the mobile possibilities too beneficial. The only thing I've missed is being able to play graphics intensive games, and now, it sounds like I'll be gaming with the best of them! I'm excited! Does anyone know when this will be released for upgrade of an existing computer or how much it will cost? Later, guys!
    Rob
    P.S. - Here's NVidia's press release:
    http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=IO_20021011_5981

2. Joel Mack

Joel Mack Cinematographer

I had always been under the impression that whatever is in your laptop is what you're stuck with for the life of the machine...

3. Thomas Newton

Thomas Newton Screenwriter

Laptop video generally is not upgradable. The video adapter chip is usually soldered to the motherboard.

There are some laptop models that have video on an upgradable, proprietary card. They're the exception to the rule. Given how vendors play up every feature, you would probably already know if you had one.

4. Jesse Leonard

Jesse Leonard Second Unit

It depends on which notebook you have as to whether it is upgradable or not. In many of the newer Dell's the video card is upgradable. It's as easy as making sure you have the latest bios, pop out the old one and put the new one in.

But not all notebooks are. Which notebook do you have?

5. Max Leung

Max Leung Producer

I have the Toshiba Satellite 5100. Has 512mb of [email protected], 1600x1200 screen, Geforce 4 Go 440 with 64mb DDR. (Toshiba now has the 5200 model, with a Geforce 4 Go 460, supposedly higher clock speed than the 440).