New Mitsubishi 50" TV not displaying progessive

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Ronald Epstein, Aug 16, 2004.

  1. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,991
    Likes Received:
    4,681
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    A friend just bought a new 50" Mitsubishi RPTV
    over the past few days.

    He hooked up his Progressive Scan DVD player
    to it and played a few movies. Though the
    progressive scan light was lit on the DVD player,
    the TV showed jumbled lines.

    My guess is that he needs to go into a setting
    on the TV and tell it to accept a progressive
    signal.

    On the other hand, I would *think* that these
    sets come out of the box with a default setting
    for progressive.

    Your thoughts?

    Thanks in advance for the help.
     
  2. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can you describe the jumbled lines? Still showing interlacing artifacts? I rented Justice League: Starcrossed (cartoon) and the jaggies are almost unbearable at times. I figured that it was just a disc that was improperly flagged.

    Does it do this with all DVDs?
     
  3. Jean D

    Jean D Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    How was the dvd player connected to the tv (i.e. what kind of cables were used)? I know it sounds like a basic question, but its part of problem solving.
     
  4. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,991
    Likes Received:
    4,681
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I believe component.
     
  5. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    HDTV sets may have a separate set of component input jacks for interlaced video, or they autoselect between progressive and interlaced (and/or HDTV) inputs. I don't know of any that require a manual selection.

    Whereas interlaced vs. progressive from a progressive player is always a manual selection at the player.

    Are you sure that this TV even accepts progressive scan?

    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm

    The 540p/1080i manual selection on some HDTV's only affects the way the scan lines are drawn on the picture tube and all inputs will work with both of these.
     
  6. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,991
    Likes Received:
    4,681
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Wish I had the model # for you guys,
    but I don't.

    It's a brand-new 2004 widescreen Mitsubishi.

    Why would it NOT accept progressive?
     
  7. Jean D

    Jean D Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does if its HD.

    I have a 2002 widescreen mits, but I cant recall if there was a setting in the menu or not to switch to progressive or not. I believe it automatically detected the signal but I cant be sure since I am at work and not home. I think the key to this would be the input on the tv. I have 3 component inputs on mine, one is 1080i, and two are 480 but I dont know if they are 480p or 480i specific or not.
     
  8. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    True enough, my other component input on my HDTV is for 480i only. Only the HDTV Component input accepts 480p / 1080i.....
     
  9. Matt_M

    Matt_M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also really basic but maybe double check that his DVD player is set to a 16:9 display.
     
  10. Shane Martin

    Shane Martin Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 1999
    Messages:
    6,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if there is a switch on the dvd player that needs to be switched on.

    My 2004 Mits will auto sense what input I'm sending it and go to 480p. ALL of my progressive/HD inputs will accept 480p. You can look on the back and it will say what it will accept. It is usually printed in a certain color scheme.
     
  11. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Double check the setting on that input. Mine were defaulted to YPrPbHV. I had to switch them to YPrPb to get my DVD player to work.

    -Robert
     

Share This Page