What's new

New member with Onkyo 6100 questions! (1 Viewer)

becact

Auditioning
Real Name
Brian
Hi all!

I have just installed an Onkyo 6100 HTiB as my primary home theater system. I know it is not the best, but it fell within my budget. Luckily, I have some experience with car audio (I run Rainbow components and an IDmax subwoofer), so this is not all new to me! I had a few general questions on the system, though, that I am hoping others can help with. I am using it primarily with a PS3 as a blu-ray and DVD player.

I am running the system as a 5.1, and have the fronts mounted to the wall on pivoting mounts. My TV screen is about 2-3 feet off the wall, and the center is directly under it. Will the fronts being mounted to the wall produce reflections and other undesirable effects, or will the directional nature of the front speakers negate any effect from being so close to the wall? I've ran the Audessy for the time delay corrections and such.

Also, the system sounds great at high volumes, but the voices seem very low compared to the rest of the soundtrack at moderate to low volumes. Is this because of the cheap speakers, or can I tune this effect away? Perhaps raising the gain on the center channel?

Also, what does everyone think of the sub in this system? It seems quite weak on mine for some reason. The gain is up half way, and the audessey was tuned with it at this level. Audessey set the trim on the sub to -1dB. I have the system crossover at 80 hz, which helped a little (is this too low for the included speakers? Audessey set it at 120hz). The sub does not have a phase dial for me to play around with, unfortunately.

Thanks! I hope I don't get sucked into this expensive hobby, as I already have another one (saltwater reef keeping)! ;)

becact

Auditioning
Real Name
Brian
Hi all!